Monday, May 11, 2015

Medal of Valor Ceremony Recognizes Heroic Caltrans Workers

On April 23, 2015, the annual Medal of Valor ceremony was held at the CHP Academy in West Sacramento. This year’s 52 medal recipients included 16 Caltrans workers who were recognized for their acts of heroism extending far above and beyond the normal call of duty.

Governor Brown’s Executive Secretary Nancy McFadden presented the medals, the highest honor that California bestows on its public servants. 

Caltrans recipients included Victor Guerrero, Daniel Santacruz, Gary Hahn, Jamie Hill, Christopher Harvey, Stephen Elias, Gregory Englund, Brian Borella, Joe Martinez, Alberto Miramontes, Jose Linares, Barry Morrison, Jerry Bachmann, Johnnie James, James Murrieta, and David Guerena.

Check out the video below to find out what it means to be a hero and meet some of the workers who received the honor.